The Throat Chakra

Vishudda is one of the seven archetypical chakras, that is, one of our levels of consciousness.
(These original Indian chakras are symbolized by a stylized lotus flower with form symbolism and deities at the bottom. You can see it at the top of this page. We also here include symbolism belonging to the secondary chakras of the modern western chakra tradition.) 

The Sanskrit name Vishudda means "to purify". 
Vishudda is viewed as the fifth chakra (from the bottom)




Element (tattva)

ether, akasha


western: blue  indian: bluish white

Number of petals











Shakti Shakini


throat, larynx

Association to bodypart

throat, mouth, ears





Points out

trust, to follow one's inner voice

Associated sacrament

the Confession  (acc. to C. Myss)

Here the elephant symbolizes the tamed powers within us. It reminds us of our possibility to choose our thoughts and actions and of the fact that we don't have to be enslaved by our instincts and urges.

With the fifth chakra we are on our way into the spiritual world. The position of the chakra in the throat symbolizes "the narrow path". Here begins the individual road which requires decisions and concerns the actual meaning of our lives. Here the need for security of the personal ego must be replaced by trust and inner conviction. The Higher Self becomes important. 

Key terms
to understanding the archetypical aspect of Vishudda:
To listen to and follow one's true self, nobody can serve two masters, to express one's true beliefs, to act out of total trust. 

We can think about our own experiences of and our attitude towards these aspects. We can also seek ways to work with them in an adequate manner.

Chakra visualization can be a wonderful tool in your development and it can help you to realize what you are and who you are. Just because of that it should be used with respect. Particularly if you'r using some breathing technique at the same time.
Being conscious of a chakra and it's aspects means that one activates it to a certain degree. Focused good thoughts and positive energy are also activating. Don't forget that it's your own consciousness that guides the visualization.


Also the Sefirot of the Kabbalistic Tree of Life represents psychic powers or archetypes. The Tree is a picture of Creation.

Vishudda corresponds to sefira Daath in the Tree. Daath means "knowledge" and is often given the number eleven.
This is a debated correspondence since Daath is not a generally recognized sefira. Only modern interpreters from the 20th century have mentioned Daath as a genuine sefira in the Tree and many say this is a sign of our spiritual development. Daath is situated below the first sefira, between the second and the third, above what that is called "the abyss". This sefira is also called "the invisible sefira", the bridge over the abyss" and "the prism". 

Number eleven
Archangel Rafael, Mikael, Gabriel, Uriel

Aspects to meditate on in Daath:
The inner depths


Do you want to go to other chakras? 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7