The Crown Chakra

Sahasrara is one of the seven archetypical chakras, that is, one of our levels of consciousness.
(These original Indian chakras are symbolized by a stylized lotus flower with form symbolism and deities at the bottom. You can see it at the top of this page. We also here include symbolism belonging to the secondary chakras of the modern western chakra tradition.)

The Sanskrit name Sahasrara means "thousandfold." 
Sahasrara is viewed as the last chakra (from the bottom, or the first from the top) 



Element (tattva)



western: violet  indian: -

Number of petals

one thousand






without form




top of the head

Association to bodypart






Points out

oneness, void

Associated sacrament

the Last Communion  (C. Myss)

With the seventh chakra we are completely on the transcendental plane. Here is void, the pure source of being, the root of manifestation. Some traditions don't view Sahasrara as a real chakra, that is, not as an archetypical plane of consciousness but more as a symbol for what is beyond that. 

Key terms
to understanding the archetypical aspect of Sahasrara:
Completion, union, liberation, void, birth and death

We can think about our own experiences of and our attitude towards these aspects. We can also seek ways to work with them in an adequate manner.

Chakra visualization can be a wonderful tool in your development and it can help you to realize what you are and who you are. Just because of that it should be used with respect. Particularly if you'r using some breathing technique at the same time.
Being conscious of a chakra and it's aspects means that one activates it to a certain degree. Focused good thoughts and positive energy are also activating. Don't forget that it's your own consciousness that guides the visualization.



Also The Sefirot of the Kabbalistic Tree of Life (like the Chakra system) represent psychic powers or archetypes. The Tree is a picture of Creation.

Sahasrara corresponds to the first sefira, Kether, which means "the Crown" It represents the will of "The Absolute"
Kether symbolises the divine energy that emanates all the way into physical manifestation.

Number one
Archangel Metatron


Aspects to meditate on in Kether:
The mystery of Oneness


Do you want to go on to other chakras? 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7