Ajna (Agnya)

The Brow Chakra

Ajna is one of the seven archetypical chakras, that is, one of our levels of consciousness.
(These original Indian chakras are symbolized by a stylized lotus flower with form symbolism and deities at the bottom. You can see it at the top of this page. We also here include symbolism belonging to the secondary chakras of the modern western chakra tradition.)

The Sanskrit name Ajna means "to command" or "to percieve".  The pronunciation Agnya is Bengali and is very often used. 
Ajna is viewed as the sixth chakra (from the bottom). 



Element (tattva)



western: indigo  indian: white

Number of petals











Shakti Hakini


between the eyebrows

Association to bodypart

brow, eyes, brain-halves





Points out

clarity of vision, objectivity

Associated sacrament

the Ordination  (acc. to C. Myss)

With the sixth chakra we're in the spiritual and mental worlds which is symbolized by the position of the chakra in the head. Here is the place for surveys and insights, here we percieve both the outer and inner world and are able to become aware of the hidden meaning. 

Key terms
to understanding the archetypical aspect of Ajna:
Trying to understand consciousness, understanding symbols, distance, objectivity, overview and insight, attitude to life

We can think about our own experiences of and our attitude towards these aspects. We can also seek ways to work with them in an adequate manner.

Chakra visualization can be a wonderful tool in your development and it can help you to realize what you are and who you are. Just because of that it should be used with respect. Particularly if you'r using some breathing technique at the same time.
Being conscious of a chakra and it's aspects means that one activates it to a certain degree. Focused good thoughts and positive energy are also activating. Don't forget that it's your own consciousness that guides the visualization.


Chokma and Binah

Also the Sefirot of the Kabbalistic Tree of Life represent psychic powers or archetypes. The Tree is a picture of Creation.

Agnya corresponds to the second sefira, Chokma, and to the third, Binah. Chokma means "wisdom", Binah "understanding".
Chokma is the active, masculine power which stimulates the universe. It could be said to be the energy giving principle behind creation and is called "the heavenly father".
Binah is passiv, feminine and structurizing. Binah becomes, through absorbing the free energy of Chokma, the first step to incarnation. 

Number two
Archangel Ratziel
Number three
Archangel Tzafkiel

Aspects to meditate on in Chokma:
The Universal Plan.

Aspects to meditate on in Binah:
Creation and the stillness of Silence.


Do you want to go to other chakras?

1 2 3 4 5 6 7