The Solar plexus Chakra

Manipura is one of the seven archetypical chakras, that is, one of our levels of consciousness.
(These original Indian chakras are symbolized by a stylized lotus flower with form symbolism and deities at the bottom. You can see it at the top of this page. We also here include symbolism belonging to the secondary chakras of the modern western chakra tradition.)

The Sanskrit name Manipura means jewel or "city of jewels". 
Manipura is sometimes also called the Navel Chakra
Manipura is viewed as the third chakra (from the bottom).




Element (tattva)



western: yellow  indian: red

Number of petals









Rudra, Agni


Shakti Lakini


solar plexus

Association to bodypart

digestive system, gall bladder,





Points out

the ego, selfknowledge

Associated sacrament

the Confirmation (acc. to C. Myss)

Here especially the ram symbolizes our power and "inner fire".  It reminds us of the fact that we must rely on our own resources.

With the third chakra we see the human beeing as a whole personality. From here we develop mental qualities and higher insights. To make this development possible we need to be balanced by insights on those first basic human levels.  

Key terms
to understanding the archetypical aspect of Manipura:
To take responsibility for one's own life, to become an adult being, initiation, self-esteem, personal power, will, energy, nutrition, joy of life

We can think about our own experiences of and our attitude towards these aspects. We can also seek ways to work with them in an adequate manner.

Chakra visualization can be a wonderful tool in your development and it can help you to realize what you are and who you are. Just because of that it should be used with respect. Particularly if you'r using some breathing technique at the same time.
Being conscious of a chakra and it's aspects means that one activates it to a certain degree. Focused good thoughts and positive energy are also activating. Don't forget that it's your own consciousness that guides the visualization. 


Netzach and Hod

Also the Sefirot of the Kabbalistic Tree of Life represent psychic powers or archetypes. The Tree is a picture of Creation.

Manipura corresponds to two sefirot in the Tree. The seventh, called Netzach and the eight, called Hod.
Hod represents the individual consciousness and a clear intellect, air and the giving of form. 
Netzach represents the collective consciousness and an active, dynamic emotional life, fire and strength. 

Number seven   (Netzach)
Archangel Hanael
Number eight   (Hod)
Archangel Mikael


Aspects to meditate on in Netzach:
Emotions and creativity. 

Aspects to meditate on in Hod:
Communication and clarity.


Do you want to go on to other chakras?

1 2 3 4 5 6 7