The Base Chakra

Muladhara is one of the seven archetypical chakras, that is, one of our levels of consciousness.
(These original Indian chakras are symbolized by a stylized lotus flower with form symbolism and deities at the bottom. You can see it at the top of this page. We also here include symbolism belonging to the secondary chakras of the modern Western chakra tradition.) 

The Sanskrit name Muladhara means both root and support.
Muladhara is also called the Root chakra.
Muladhara is seen as the first chakra and is situated at the base of  the abdomen.

The chakras are situated along the subtle central channel called Sushumna (along the spine) which starts right under Muladhara. The Kundalini, the latent power of cosmic consciousness is said (by most of the sources) to lie in the Muladhara. 


Chakra number


Element (tattva)

earth  (Prithvi)


western: red   indian: yellow

Number of petals





the elephant Airavata




Brahma, Ganesha


Shakti Dakini


perineum between anus and the genitals

Association to bodypart

large intestine, spine, legs, feet


suprarenal glands



Points out

the body, the physical world

Associated sacrament

the Baptism (acc. to C. Myss)

Especially the elephant God Ganesha here symbolizes  the experience of a physical body  and reminds us that also the body and the material world are divine. 

Key terms
to understanding the archetypical aspect of Muladhara:
Acceptance of the incarnation with it's life conditions; time and space, body, senses, repetition, will to live, belonging....

We can think about our own experiences of and our attitude towards these aspects. We can also seek ways to work with them in an adequate manner.

Focusing, meditation or visualization on Muladhara (or Malkuth) is necessary if you work with the chakras in spiritual-personal development. The whole upper balance and development depend on the existence of a solid foundation in the first three chakras. Muladhara becomes the most important since the rise of the Kundalini (the development of the actual power of consciousness) begins here. 
Chakra visualization can be a wonderful tool in your development and it can help you to realize what you are and who you are. Just because of that it should be used with respect. Particularly if you'r using some breathing technique at the same time.
Being conscious of a chakra and it's aspects means that one activates it to a certain degree. Focused good thoughts and positive energy are also activating. Don't forget that it's your own consciousness that guides the visualization. 


Also the Sefirot (spheres or emanations, singular form =Sefira) of The Tree of Life represent psychic powers of the archetypes. The Tree is a picture of creation.
The Sefira corresponding to Muladhara is Malkuth,  the name Shekina is also used. 
Malkuth means "The Kingdom" and Shekina "Presence".

This is the last Sefira of the divine emanations and it is placed at the bottom of the Tree. The divine energy is here "specialized and concretesized". 
This is "the Mother of all living things", the spere of the concrete, the realm of the physical world. This is the culmination of the emanation process. Here "God is made visible by His works".

Number ten
Archangel (for the planet) Metatron
Archangel (for element earth) Uriel


Aspects to meditate on in Malkuth:
The physical existence.

Here you can also meditate on the Holy Guardian Angel


Do you want to go to other chakras? 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7